• Distinguished Scholar Award

    The ESS 2020 Distinguished Scholar Award

    The 2020 Distinguished Scholar Award is Professor Matthew Paterson (Manchester University). This award recognizes outstanding scholars whose long history of excellent research and teaching has had substantial impact on fields associated with international relations and environmental issues. Matthew Paterson’s scholarship, its breadth, depth, and quality, is simply remarkable. For over 25 years Mat has been at the forefront of the study of global environmental politics, exploring and making significant advances in areas of the global governance, political economy, and cultural politics of climate change and sustainability. Mat also exemplifies the identity of the teacher-scholar who cares deeply about pedagogy and mentoring students. He brings the same passion and curiosity to…

  • Books by members,  Newletter,  News

    New book by Scobie: Global environmental governance and small states: Architectures and agency in the Caribbean.

    Scobie, M. (2019). Global environmental governance and small states: Architectures and agency in the Caribbean. New Horizons in Environmental Politics series. Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar Publishing. The book is an in depth analysis of global environmental governance and Caribbean Small Island Developing States (SIDS) in the context of transformative environmental change in the Anthropocene. It explains how and where regional and local economic, geophysical and historical contexts and scales interact with global environmental governance actors, norms, regimes and architectures to determine the nature of SIDS’ environmental policy and governance arrangements particularly in the areas of climate change, tourism, marine governance, energy security, cultural heritage and trade. Read the full post…

  • Books by members,  Newletter

    New Book by member – Contesting global environmental knowledge, norms, and governance.

    Peterson, M.J. (Ed.). (2019). Contesting global environmental knowledge, norms, and governance. Routledge Series on Transforming Environmental Politics, and Policy. London and New York: Routledge. Through theoretical discussions and case studies, this volume explores how processes of contestation about knowledge, norms, and governance processes shape efforts to promote sustainability through international environmental governance. Read the full post (222 words)

  • Conferences,  ISA conference

    Deadline coming up June 21st – ISA West Conference 2019

    ISA West Conference 2019 27-28 September 2019 | Pasadena, CA, U.S.A. The International Studies Association West region is pleased to announce our 2019 annual conference, September 27-28, in Pasadena, California, USA. ISA-West invites paper, panel and roundtable proposals on any subject related to international studies, broadly defined. We strongly encourage paper, panel and roundtable proposals on subjects related to this year’s continuing conference theme: Breaking Down Barriers, Dismantling Walls. Read the full post (161 words, 1 image)

  • Newletter,  News

    Spring 2019 Newsletter for ESS of ISA is out!

     The newsletter for Spring 2019 is out – find it here: Spring newsletter 2019 The ESS newsletter is based at the Center for Unconventional Security Affairs (CUSA) and the Blum Center at the University of California, Irvine (www.cusa.uci.edu) and is co-edited by: Richard Matthew, Evgenia Nizkorodov, Bemmy Maharramli, Maureen J. Purcell, Paroma Wagle, Kristen A. Goodrich, Connor Harron and Sifat Reazi The next edition will be in September 2019. The newsletter follows a fall, winter, spring and summer schedule. To be included in the upcoming edition, please send relevant publication information, career resources, announcements such as calls for papers and resources, and events for inclusion in the next issue to envtlss.newsletter@gmail.com.

  • articles,  Newletter,  News

    Journal articles by members!

    The following is a list of Journal Articles, Special Edited Journal Issues, Reports, and Book Chapters by members of ESS of ISA since the last newsletter! Asayama, S., Sugiyama, M., Ishii, A., & Kosugi, T. (2019). Beyond solutionist science for the Anthropocene: To navigate the contentious atmosphere of solar geoengineering. Anthropocene Review, 1–6. Baysal, B., & Karakas, U. (2017). Climate change and security: Different perceptions, different approaches. Uluslararası İlişkiler/International Relations, 14(54), 21-44. Beiser-McGrath, L., & Bernauer, T. (2019). Commitment-failures are unlikely to undermine public support for the Paris Agreement. Nature Climate Change, 9, 248-252. Read the full post (714 words, 1 image)