Close to 50 nominations have come in for the Sprout Award 2015 so far, and the committee is in the process of going through the nominations. These have come in from the following publishers so far:

  1. Edward Elgard
  2. Ecovision
  3. UP of Kentucky
  4. Yale UP
  5. Oxford
  6. Polity
  7. University of Georgia Press
  8. MIT
  9. Cambridge UP
  10. Routledge
  11. Oxford
  12. Greystone
  13. Columbia
  14. Minnesota
  15. Simon and Schuster


The call for proposals for the 57th ISA Annual Convention in Atlanta (16-19 March 2016) has been out for a few days now. Allow us to draw your attention to a number of exciting formats that you may propose to the Environmental Studies Section  – from regular papers and panels to roundtables, innovative panels, working groups and career courses.

Below we like to give you some more information about the different formats (including their different links and deadlines) – and highly encourage you to submit. We very much look forward to your proposals!

All best wishes,

Fariborz Zelli

We would like to remind you to nominate papers written and presented by graduate students at the 2015 ISA annual conference in New Orleans, for the Environmental Studies Section Graduate Student Paper Award.

Please send your nominations with a copy of the paper (in MS Word or pdf format) by no later than June 1st by e-mail to ESS Chair Susan Park (susanpark@sydney.edu.au).

Please note:

  • Graduate students may nominate their own papers as well.
  • Graduate student papers that have been co-authored with professors are not eligible for nomination for the best graduate student paper.
Dear Colleagues:
Each year the ISA President-Elect is asked to nominate members to serve on several committees of ISA. Please contact t.paul (at) mcgill.ca  for a list of committees that need to be filled next year.
In your recommendation or self nomination, please make sure you pay adequate attention to the full spectrum of ISA membership, in particular women, Non-North American members (especially from the Global South),  minorities and other under represented groups, senior and junior colleagues,  those who are regular attendees of ISA conferences, as well as those who  likely will devote some of their time to the committee work. It will also help if you  mention different committees that they, or you yourself, may be able to serve.
Please send your recommendations to t.paul (at) mcgill.ca directly by April 30th, with their email addresses and web links.