• Awards

    Sprout Award 2019

    The winner of this year’s Harold and Margaret Sprout Award is: Jessica Steinberg (Indiana University) for Communities, Mines and States: The Local Politics of Natural Resource Extraction. Published by Cambridge University Press, Steinberg’s path-breaking book develops a novel theory and sophisticated data to explore dynamics of public goods provision, protest and government repression surrounding mines in Africa. It marks a significant advance in our understanding of the politics of natural resource extraction that should be of enduring interest to scholars of environmental politics. This year we also have a runner-up for the Sprout Award: Cristina Balboa (Baruch College, CUNY) for her book The Paradox of Scale: How NGOs Build, Maintain, and Lose…

  • Awards,  ISA conference,  News

    Graduate Student Paper Awards

    Graduate students are invited to participate in the ESS Graduate Student Paper Award Competition sponsored by the Environmental Studies Section of ISA. The award was established in 2011 to recognize the best paper with an environment-related theme presented at the ISA Annual Convention. 2019 Winner (presented at the ISA annual convention in San Fransisco 2018): Charlotte Grech-Madin, Uppsala University, Sweden Currents of Conscience Evolution and Operation of the Water Taboo Read the full post (165 words, 1 image)

  • Awards,  Distinguished Scholar Award,  ISA conference,  News

    Distinguished Scholar Award 2018

    Message from the Chair: “ROBYN ECKERSLEY is the Kirstin Hesselgren Professor in Social Sciences at Lund University January-July 2019 She has also had Visiting professorships at Oxford, LSE and has been the Arne Naess Chair in Global Justice & Environment. She was elected as a Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences of Australia in 2007, and was the co-winner of the University of Melbourne’s Woodward Medal for the best research in Humanities and Social Sciences for 2005. She has won numerous more awards, held editorial and advisory board memberships, and published extensively. Read the full post (184 words, 1 image)

  • Awards,  Journals

    Most Outstanding Paper in the 2017 Sustainability Science Best Paper Awards

    The winner of the Sustainability Science 2017 Best Paper Award is “Transdisciplinary co-design of scientific research agendas: 40 research questions for socially relevant climate engineering research” by Dr. Masahiro Sugiyama et al. (2017). The paper was selected out of 62 eligible paper submissions. Congratulations to ESS co-author, Dr. Atsushi Ishii (Tokyo University). Read the full post (300 words)

  • Awards,  Journals,  News

    Evan J. Ringquist Best Paper Award, American Political Science Association

    Congratulations to ESS Member Dr. Jonas Meckling (University of California, Berkeley) and Dr. Jonas Nahm (Johns Hopkins University) for winning the Evan J. Ringquist Best Paper Award for their 2018 paper, “The power of process: State capacity and climate policy” in Governance. The award recognizes the best paper published in a relevant journal in the last two years and is awarded by The Science, Technology, & Environmental Politics section of the American Political Science Association. Read the full post (231 words)

  • Awards

    Message from the ESS Chair Fariborz Zelli

    Dear colleagues, Before the San Francisco ISA Conference disappears from memory, please nominate papers written and presented by graduate students for the ESS Graduate Student Paper Award. Here are the details: Submission/Nomination Currently, nominations are being requested for papers that were presented at the 2018 ISA annual convention in San Francisco. Panel chairs and discussant and paper presenters please make nominations! Graduate students may nominate their own papers as well. Graduate student papers that have been co‐authored with professors are not eligible for nomination for the best graduate student paper. Read the full post (249 words)