The Harold and Margaret Sprout Award

The Harold and Margaret Sprout Award was established in 1972 and named in honor of two pioneers in the study of international environmental problems. The award is given annually to the best book in the field – one that makes a contribution to theory and interdisciplinarity, shows rigor and coherence in research and writing, and offers accessibility and practical relevance. Nominated books should address some aspect of one or more environmental, pollution or resource issues from a broadly international or transnational perspective, including works in (for example) global, interstate, transboundary, North-South, foreign policy, comparative or area studies. Environmental subjects of books can include (for example) environmental law, diplomacy, transnational activism, natural resource use, global change, sustainable development, biodiversity, transboundary pollution control, and the like.

Nominated works must be published during the two years prior to the year they are nominated for. Books with a copyright date of the award year are welcome provided that they are released by the previous year’s end. Each publisher may nominate more than one book, and books nominated for the prior year can be re-nominated. The committee members will begin reading the books as soon as they arrive. The committee must complete its review and reach its decision by the beginning of the award year in time for presentation of the award at the annual meeting of the ISA in February or March. Therefore, we need to receive notice of nominations and receive copies of nominated books by 1 August.

Publishers wishing to nominate books should send one copy of each book to each member of the Sprout Award Committee. The names and addresses of committee members are listed on the “officers” page of this site:


Joanna I. Lewis, Green Innovation in China: China’s Wind Power Industry and the Global Transition to a Low-Carbon Economy


Andrew S. Mathews, Instituting Nature: Authority, Expertise, and Power in Mexican Forests


Rob Nixon, Department of English, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Slow Violence and the Environmentalism of the Poor
Harvard University Press
Henrik Selin: Global Governance of Hazardous Chemicals – Challenges of Multilevel Management. MIT Press
Peter Newell and Matthew Paterson: Climate Capitalism: Global Warming and the Transformation of the Global Economy. Cambridge University Press


D.G Webster, University of Southern California
Adaptive Governance: The Dynamics of Atlantic Fisheries Management
Foreign Affairs