News,  Nominations,  Officers

Nominees for the Sprout Award Committee 2024

The Harold and Margaret Sprout Award Committee consists of five members, three of whom are elected in a given year and two of whom are elected in the alternate year. The Committee selects its own chair. It is responsible for selecting the annual winner of the Harold and Margaret Sprout Award for the best book in global environmental politics.

Below are the bios for those running for the Sprout Award Committee (2 positions/3 candidates):

Justin Alger: I am an assistant professor in global environmental politics at the University of Melbourne. My work examines the political economy of environmental problems and their solutions, with a focus on biodiversity protection. I am the author of Conserving the Oceans: The Politics of Large Marine Protected Areas (Oxford University Press, 2021) and the co-editor of A Research Agenda for Global Environmental Politics (Edward Elgar Press, 2018). My expertise is ideally suited to the Sprout Committee, and beyond that I am keenly interested in reading more of the wonderful work produced by GEP scholars. This position is an opportunity to do so in a way that gives back to the field.

David Gordon: I’m an Associate Professor of Politics at the University of California Santa Cruz, where I teach and conduct research on the politics of global climate governance and the prospects for transformative change, with a specialization in the role of cities and city-networks as agents/sites of transformative change. Broadly speaking, my research explores the heterodox power relations that shape, enable, and constrain cities as they engage in the global governance of climate change (and other issues that cut across global/local scales). My scholarship is deeply interdisciplinary but linked by an interest in better understanding, and assessing, the possibilities of engendering meaningful governance responses to intersecting crises of the contemporary moment. Having served the ESS community in the past I would very much enjoy having the chance to do so again.

Raul Pacheco-Vega: Dr. Raul Pacheco-Vega is a Professor in the Methods Lab of the Latin American Faculty for Social Sciences (Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales, FLACSO) Sede MĂ©xico. He is a specialist in comparative public policy and focuses on North American environmental politics, primarily sanitation and water governance, solid waste management, neoinstitutional theory, transnational environmental social movements and experimental methods in public policy. He is a member of the Mexican National Researchers’ System (SNI), and holds the distinction of National Researcher Level 2. He’s sat on the Exec Comm once, and chaired the Sprout Award Committee twice. He’s also been part of the Outreach Committee twice. He’s a die-hard ESS of ISA fan.

For information on current officers and ESS governance, please visit: